I am a bassist in a 3-person band in which the other two members are a guitarist/singer (frontman) and his girlfriend (drummer). Frontman and his girlfriend are a little over 10 years older than me and frontman has quite a bit of experience with amateur shows as a performer. He also has a small PA and quite a bit of gear. I have a lot of respect for him. The drummer is pretty good but she is a little off-beat at times, but easy to get along with. This is my first time in a band but I have been playing guitar/bass for over 11 years, and I am pretty talented.

We have been practicing for about 3 months now and we have a solid 32 song ready-to-play list of covers that we've been working on. There are about 20 other songs that we are also working on. We have a very similar taste of music and it seems like we have similar goals with this project - at this point it is supposed to be about having fun and getting some opening/gigging experience. There are a couple things that are starting to really piss me off, though:

Too much yapping and noodling at practices. I want to run through the songs and work on improving them. I have brought this up already. I feel like we should be performing already and the talk between songs during practice is hindering us from making a lot of progress.

Frontman is a little arrogant at times. Here's an example: Tonight at practice, he referred to me and the drummer as accompaniment when we were hashing out what key to play a song in. I bit my tongue hard. These kind of comments rub me the wrong way. I get it - the lead part is obviously important, but if I am just accompaniment, he should seriously consider just going solo. A lot of the songs we are doing would sound like shit, though, because bass takes a lead role in about half of them!