Hi All,

Im looking for a telecaster for under £500

I have seen the fender standard tele for sale for around £419 but have also heard ver good things about Squire modern player and classic vibe teles

Any advice or recommendations please- going to try them all out soon!!
Must it be a Fender/Squier, or is a Teleclone good enough?

I saw a G&L Tribute on Frets Guitar Centre's website that might interest you. There are also good ones to be found at Reverb.com.

You might also want to consider the UK's own Fret-King guitars. They make some nice Teleclones.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
I have a Squier classic vibe tele myself... as a left-handed player, when I was in the market for a cheap tele it was pretty much the only option I had - but I pretty much swear by it now.

Over the nearly 4 years I've had it, I've recieved many complements on it's tone, and a few instances of 'I can't believe that's not a Fender'. It does have a completely authentic tone - doesn't 'sound' like a cheap guitar. Plays very nicely, keeps it's tuning and intonation perfectly. I've used it at studio sessions and probably a few hundred gigs.

Though assuming you're right handed you can probably grab a second hand Fender that would outdo a Squier, providing it has been well looked after. I have a friend with a early 2000s Mexican tele and it is very lovely... wouldn't say it has a better tone than the squier but looks and plays even better.

I also don't see the point in the modern player series, HSS pickup configuration isn't going to sound great in a tele, and definitely won't give you that distinctive telecaster tone... unless you want a tele body purely for aesthetic.
Squier Class Vibe Telecaster Custom. You might have money left to swap the pickups, but even stock, it beats the crap out of any fender in that price range.