Subject says it all, pretty much. I've been playing 9 months, self taught basically. When I strum with capo, I hear the strings rattling around a lot more than they do otherwise. Sounds like shit sometimes. Is this common? Is there a problem with the way I'm strumming? And why would capo exacerbate this? Thanks

Edit: in case your wondering, I don't have too bad of a guitar. Takamine... about $300. (I'm living in Asia)
Last edited by panman36 at May 25, 2015,
This is common in bad quality capo's, but it can also happen if you don't have the capo on correctly.

What kind of capo do you have?

Perhaps take a picture of the capo when it's on your guitar so we can be sure it's on properly?
Not able to post a pic, but sure I have it on right. You got me thinking about whether this is a lousy capo. It also doesn't sound quite as full or feel as comfortable when I use capo either These things aren't normal then?
Generally the rattling / buzzing sound is a result of a poor capo. My first capo that I got with a guitar magazine was shitty and did this. Got a proper capo after and never had the problem again.
What kind of capo is it? Did you buy it at a music store? Surely you must know a little bit about the capo?

No chords sound as full as an open chord right at the top nut of the guitar. One reason why open chords are the most common chords you'll ever hear. I'm no expert on capo's though. I don't use them all that much, but I like to think I know just enough
You don't have a capo for a classical or Spanish guitar on your acoustic guitar do you? or the other way round. Capo for flat fretboards are not compatible with rounded fretboards and vice-versa.

Position the capo just behind the fret and with just enough pressure to stop the strings rattling.

It may be possible that your frets need dressing or you have a lose one. Sometimes this is only evident when a capo is used.
To check watch
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jt0P4U5XYx8