Hi All

I've been playing for around 11 years now, although I have given it a rest for the last 2 years because of a finger injury (that I'm hopefully finally getting sorted next month).

However throughout my years including when I was in my band, I have always struggled to get a crisp punchy distortion sound/tone from any of my gear.

Specifically what I'm talking about is a good deep distortion sound that is used when playing relatively quick (though not like dragonforce quick) metal rhythm riffs (lower riffs of course, high riffs are fine), a lot of Megadeth riffs come to mind, not so much powerchord based but yeah quick ish licks.

I don't know if its just my playing, or my gear, or my gear setup etc but often when trying different settings etc and playing these types of riffs, it gets very noisy and messy/muddled very quickly, I just can't seem to give each note the punch and distinction that I hear on the actual records of that song.

For example, since I recently took up my playing again after that 2 year break, I thought hey lets just learn a simple (but not mind numbingly simple) song, so I sat down and learned:

Megadeth - This Was My Life

Fairly simple but fun to play, the parts I'm specifically talking about is the main verse riff (once you get past the powerchord intro) and the bridge part (before we return to the powerchord chorus).

On a clean setting I play this and it sounds crisp and good like I'm not overly screwing up from what I can tell.

However trying it on distortion, the verse riff individual notes soon lose their definition that you can hear when Megadeth recorded it.

Especially the opening notes of:

|------------------------|
|-----0h2------2------|
|---2------2------2-3-|
|-0 ---------0----------|

That quickly diverges into a mess, until I get to the rest note between that and the next bit in which I use my picking palm to stop the strings vibrations.