So I'm VERY new to guitar, but I'm enjoying it do far and think I'll stick with it. So I'll need to iron out all the bad habits (like nail-biting eventually). Anyway, i find that when I play, to keep my hand still, I usually have to rest my little finger just below the soundhole on the face of the guitar. Is this going to be detrimental in the long term? Should I rectify it? How could I go about trying to stop without making it sound worse?
Unless you are muting any string by doing this (You don't get a clear sound out of your strings), I don't see much of a problem. But if you want to fix it, watch other guitarists play and try to imitate the position of their hands. Watching other guitar players kinda shaped me into the guitarist I am today.
I've heard someone say onetime that your never suppose to do that. Like its a fatal flaw. I've always done it though its like an anchor to stabilize my right hand. And i think nearly everyone does it to some extent. Nowadays its 50 50 depending on how i need to play. So don't over think that one.
Quote by mabbamam
And i think nearly everyone does it to some extent.

No, they don't. And it very much is worth thinking about, though perhaps not "over thinking".

It's a common habit that's very easy to turn into a bad habit. The reason just about everyone who knows what they're doing will tell you to avoid anchoring on your pinky is that as you try to learn things at the edge of your ability it's already a tendency to tense up your right hand. If you tense up your hand, you're much more likely to injure yourself and you're limiting your ability to improve because playing fast or complex things becomes physically stressful. Anchoring just makes it harder to avoid tensing up your hand. If you're anchoring in a fairly rigid position that's also limiting your range of movement.