Hi guys i am a beginner and have just bought an esp ltd ec 256. The guitar plays fine but i would like to lower the action a little bit. It measures 4mm on the 12th fret.
So is there a way to lower the action without touching the truss rod?
Action height is not set with the truss rod, but the truss rod must be adjusted to get the correct neck relief as a preliminary to adjusting action height. Or you could think of it as the first step.

If you have 4mm at the 12th fret it is possible that the neck relief needs adjusting. Once that is correct, you set the action height by lowering or raising the two bridge posts.
Quote by Tony Done
Action height is not set with the truss rod, but the truss rod must be adjusted to get the correct neck relief as a preliminary to adjusting action height. Or you could think of it as the first step.

If you have 4mm at the 12th fret it is possible that the neck relief needs adjusting. Once that is correct, you set the action height by lowering or raising the two bridge posts.

Is adjusting the truss rod a risky job for a beginner like me?
I would love to take my guitar to an expert but we dont have any of them in our town,
i got some heck from this a while ago (with just cause) action isn't the best word to use. it may be misunderstood.

"string height" and "neck relief" are better terms to use for setups.

you don't have to be a veteran player to set the truss rod or change the string height. check up the setup thread on the top of the stickies (top threads), and check out some youtube videos.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"

Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.

Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.

****** NEW NEW NEW!
2017-07-07 2017-07-07 Update and a Chat On Noise Constraints *** NEW FRIDAY 7/7
2017-04-13 RUN AWAY from COMPUTERS!!! TCE? RANT ALERT!!!