Hello, everyone! I know that I'm a very infrequent poster, but I'm still a pretty active lurker. I was just looking for some advice on getting a new instrument. Sorry if it's a lengthy post; I tend to get carried away. Here's a little bit of a backstory:

I graduated college at the beginning of May for an Associates in Electronics, and starting Monday, I'll be starting as an Electronics Technician at a CD/DVD/Blu-Ray manufacturing plant. Since it's my first "adult job" (outside of my part-time job that I still have at a grocery store deli) that I'll be working, I thought I'd treat myself to a guitar as a gift to myself. Plus, I would like a "top-level" guitar.

Budget:

I have a decent amount saved up, but I don't want to go to crazy (like buying a $6k custom shop Fender) since I want to keep a savings and offer to help my parents out. A reasonable amount that I was looking to spend is in the $750-$1100USD range.

Favorite Artists:

I really love guitarists like Slash, Paul Gilbert, and Andy Summers. As for artists, I've been into The Birthday Massacre, GNR, The Police, Pearl Jam, and Living Colour as bands that I actively listen to. I'm really open to all kinds of music/artists, and I'm always into getting my "own" tone instead of being a pure copy.

Preferences:

Body shape doesn't really matter much to me, unless it's a pointy "br00talz" shape like a BC Warlock. For neck profiles, I like the feel of my Epi LP Standard, I absolutely love the neck on my Kramer Focus 3000 which is similar to the necks I've seen on an Ibanez Destroyer.

Brand-wise, I'm pretty much open to any brand, and I would want something at least 22 frets. I have considered getting a guitar with 24 frets, though. For bridges, I would prefer fixed. Then again, I might get one with a recessed Floyd so I could begin incorporating that in.