Hey everyone,
I haven't been on these forums in, well, 6 years! But I'm not sure where else to talk to a group of like-minded guitar players. I have been playing guitar for 11 years now as of this month. I got a new job and am getting paid well and I want to upgrade to a newer, nicer guitar.
In 2005 when I was around 15 years old, my mother bought me at the time a Schecter C1 Classic and this has been my primary guitar for the past 10 years. The guitar has held up very well over the years, I love the sound of it, works well for all styles of music. But, well, this has been my only electric guitar since then and I want to buy something a little newer and nicer.

On memorials day, I decided to buy the following:
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/gibson-2014-sg-futura-electric-guitar

It is a Gibson SG futura, and it is in the box ready to go back to Musicians Friend already. Turns out the min-etuner sucks and the one for the high E string broke on day one. Also in general, I wasn't too crazy about this guitar. It wasn't even the right color! For being the Gibson name, it sure didn't feel like a $1,000 guitar.
Does anyone here recommend a great guitar in this price range? Personally I am looking at the following right now:
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/esp-ltd-deluxe-ec-1000-fr-electric-guitar

It's an ESP, but so far what I have seen it looks and sounds great. I have also been eyeing up a Floyd Rose for a while now. I will be honest, I play my fair share of heavy metal music and the Gibson doesn't seem that great for metal music. I really like Shecter but I don't know if I want to buy another one, I was kind of hoping to go with something different.