Hi guys

Bit of info then the questions.

I am an experienced guitarist however I have very little experience of playing without a pick. I don't play any fingerstyle guitar and until recently I have never tried not using a pick on bass. I have played bass on and off for around 10 years however I am definitely a guitarist primarily. I have an Ibanez SR305 5 string which I play primarily and also an Ibanez GSR-100 which honestly plays like a piece of crap in comparison, haven't really used it since I got the 305. Favourite bassists are John Myung from Dream Theater, Dan Briggs from BTBAM and Arif Mdfighdfjkgdgo from Protest The Hero.

I have started playing songs I can already play with a pick but using fingers instead, so my fretting hand is fine as I already know the songs. I am however having some issues with my right hand because I have no idea what is considered "good" technique when it comes to fingerstyle.

Is there a correct number of fingers to use for any particular piece? I have found that one is too slow generally, two seems to work for the most part, three I haven't considered. I can fairly comfortably play 16ths at about 150bpm using two fingers, any faster becomes sloppy. When playing at faster tempos are more fingers generally used or is it generally just a case of speeding up with two?

I seem to be struggling with ascending up the strings from low to high, so kind of like sweep picking but with fingers. The most logical way to do this seems to be to use my thumb instead of picking each string but again I have no idea.

Something else I have found myself doing if the speed of the song permits is using one finger to play the low E exclusively and then use another finger to play odd notes on higher strings. Is this an efficient way to do this?