Hello,

I have owned a Fender American Standard Strat for a while now and I have just sold my first electric guitar, my Yamaha Pacifica 112V. As I have a place empty on my wall, I am looking for a cheap guitar that will bring me a bit more to the table (that I can't get from my SSS Strat).

I am looking for something bellow 500 euros (but that it is still good enough not to be totally eclipsed by my Strat) that I will have fun playing. I thought of something along Les Paul style (I was recommended the PRS SE Santana 1st edition) or the more classic Mex Strat (mind you, I am looking for second hand guitars).

Could you guys give me some advise on this front? That would be really appreciated!

Cheers
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Last edited by dannyalcatraz at May 31, 2015,
I would be looking for something with P90s or vintage-style uncovered humbuckers. The should compare favourable with you strat. OTOH, if you bought covered or hot humbuckers, they might sound muddy by comparison.

For example, there are a lot of "Vintage Vibe" Squiers at about your price point, with P90s or humbuckers, that I could be happy with. Here's one example:

http://www.squierguitars.com/guitars/telecaster/vintage-modified-cabronita-telecaster-maple-fingerboard-black/
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

The PRS Tremonti SE is a pretty nice guitar, nicer than the 1st Santana SE IMO

G&L ASAT deluxe is another worth looking at
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Might have to go with a Tribute G&L with the OP's budget.

Quote by dannyalcatraz
Might have to go with a Tribute G&L with the OP's budget.