Page 1 of 2
Hi, Ultimate Guitar Community.

I'm a 6 month self taught guitarist and I'm really obsess with guitar at moment. I've been teaching myself drum and piano at the same time. I really obsess with music.

I want to know some or at least most famous self taught guitarist.
I only know that Eric clapton is self taught so anymore pls?
Please tell me that you're not one of those people that has decided that you will never, ever, ever considering taking lessons because you'll be so much cooler if you taught yourself and you want a list to justify your stance. For some people, teaching themselves works fine, but for others, it is a major hindrance and being able to play well is better than being able to say that you are self taught.
There's no such thing; there never was. Where I am going you cannot follow me now.
Quote by theogonia777
Please tell me that you're not one of those people that has decided that you will never, ever, ever considering taking lessons because you'll be so much cooler if you taught yourself and you want a list to justify your stance. For some people, teaching themselves works fine, but for others, it is a major hindrance and being able to play well is better than being able to say that you are self taught.

Haha, so funny. I will take a class next year. But Now I'm already know how to play guitar well. I can solo bend vibrato, play harmonic note, bare chord, listen and solo and more....

What I can't taught myself yet is learning scale, key chord and yes music theory.
Does it really matter which of the famous guitarists were self taught? A lot of rock guitarists were. But that doesn't mean it's the best way for you.

Learning to play the guitar on your own is 100% doable. That doesn't mean lessons couldn't help. Some people figure out proper technique on their own, others need some guidance (and may just learn bad habits by trying to do it alone).