I just started learning some of my favorite songs so I can develop my technique. While playing the song I always stay in time. However, I subconsciously tend to follow the vocalist, as in I change from verse to chorus or chorus to verse when the vocalist finishes singing a certain part of a song rather than remembering how many times the particular part of a song is actually played. Is it a good thing or should I change my habit so it wouldn't affect me in the future?
Assuming you're playing with the recording, how would you know if you're following the vocalist or not?
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud
Quote by AlanHB
Assuming you're playing with the recording, how would you know if you're following the vocalist or not?

I just play the mp3 file of the song and play along with it. So , I hear the vocals and drums and just follow that.
You're probably better off developing the habit of counting how many times you play the parts, but it's also good to be able to listen to the vocals and know where to be that way too. If you end up playing in a band, you can avoid a train wreck if the singer screws up or ad libs. But it's also good to be able to do instrumentals and songs with long gaps between words without getting lost.
Quote by SpeedSterHR
You're probably better off developing the habit of counting how many times you play the parts, but it's also good to be able to listen to the vocals and know where to be that way too. If you end up playing in a band, you can avoid a train wreck if the singer screws up or ad libs. But it's also good to be able to do instrumentals and songs with long gaps between words without getting lost.