Hi, I'm terribly sorry, this hunk of metal has been well discussed here and elsewhere, but I'm looking to get one and have a few questions to ask as I'm very inexperienced with all types of audio equipment. So, appreciate it...

1) Several reviews call out the preamps and distortion sounds on the boss gt 8 as muck, and youtube demos seem to demonstrate this (but no one should evaluate youtube videos for quality right?) I'm no tone expert and am probably easy to please, but are the gt 8s OD/DS sounds passable - especially through a PA and for direct recording? (I know some editing is required always) Or are they completely unusable? I wouldn't use metal tones or fuzzy ones, just rock/country crunch and contemporary pop drive tones.

2) How do the line/phones out sound like for recording? Don't have a sound card yet, and I'm on a tight budget.

3) Are there significant differences in terms of sound quality between the boss gt 8 and older models?

4) I know the GT 8 uses a 14v AC power supply, but will a generic one not work with it? I live where guitar equipment is scarce, let alone expensive, and I'd like to be able to easily replace a dead adapter.

The distortion quality is my major concern, so I'd really appreciate advice/ sound clip demos which are hard to find.

PS (My only other alternative is the line6 POD xt, but is a fair bit more expensive)

Sorry about the 'cliche' post - the gt8s and 10s are years old as I understand, and there is quite a bit of info already. Still, please advise any way you can

Thanks!
The tones are not garbage but why not go GT-10? Essentially same unit but with USB interface for recording built in. The GT-8 and GT-10 sound essentially the same, they just spruced it up a little, not much difference sonically. If you know what you're doing you can get good sounds out of it. Also you can use cab emulation on the DAW side if you don't want to use Boss', there are free vsts available like Lepou cab emulator.