Hi! I have played guitar for some years now and I'm self taught. The problem is that though I have been able to play som licks or riffs for several years, I can't get them right all the time. But sometimes I do this really fast solo and get it perfectly with no mistakes. For example I have been able to play the Sweet Child O mine intro for as long as I can remember but I feel like it's very rare that I play it with no mistakes. On the other hand I just learned the solo from The final Countdown - Europe.
The rate of when I play it with no mistakes is not too far away between these songs. It's very frustrating cause I think I will never be able to play in front of a crowd with confidence.

Has anyone encountered something like this?
I feel like most of the ''mistakes'' come from the picking hand.

I use alternate picking with a jazz III pick on an Ibanez dn500 and a Samick malibu mb1 strat.

Very grateful for answers
I think you should practice the songs more.

You see, when I practice a song, the first thing I do is slowing down the tempo to a more comfortable level, and work from there. I only raise the tempo (by 10% usually) if I play it right for more than 5 times in a row. Then, I raise the tempo by 10%. If I can't play it 5 times in a row without making mistakes, I slow it down 5%. I do that until I reach 100%.

When I do reach 100% (the normal tempo of the song), I try to play the song without making mistakes at 110% tempo. That way, I play the song with total confidence at its normal tempo.

Of course, we make mistakes from time to time, that's normal.

I also divide the songs by parts, specially solos. That seems to help too.

I know it may sound a bit tedious, but it works for me. You could try it
Last edited by DanyFS at Jun 8, 2015,
Quote by DanyFS
I think you should practice the songs more.