https://soundcloud.com/raukolith-guitar/molecular-disassembly-demo-mix2

I'm sort of confused on how to mix this (and I'm pretty new at mixing). The bass basically disappears on my monitors and headphones (which are a cheap pair of sennheiser 419s), but on my teacher's speakers the bass is extremely woofy. The snare sound I'm not 100% satisfied with. I'm using ezdrummer with reaper, and I want a more reverby snare sound, but I just can't get the sound I want out of the builtin reaper reverb and delay plugins. Do you guys have any suggestions on the technical front?

As for the music side .___. I just feel like I'm ripping riffs from my favorite bands and doing it poorly. Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!
Last edited by rky at Jun 11, 2015,
Hey there,

Thanks so much for checking out my track.

Molecular Disassembly is a well done track. I'm not sure what sound you were going for, but I hear a lot of riffs in here that I would associate with bands like Death or Obscura. I had no issue hearing the bassline from my monitors. As for the rest of the mix, the rest of the instrument voices were articulate and easily distinguishable from one another. I noticed you said you are using EZDrummer. Some of the drum patterns sound a bit robotic to me and I believe they would benefit from more velocity alternation. This may be a matter of taste though for the style of music. I also use Reaper, but I've generally had good experience with the built in suite of plugins so I don't really have any suggestions.

Here are some specific moments in the track which caught my attention:

0:00-0:33 The intro riff sounded a bit bland and dragged on a little bit, but the thrashy beat that follows it immediately afterward caught my focus again.

1:16 - 1:20 I think this could be drawn out a bit longer. The progression sounds awesome with the double kick and bassline backing.