Hey guys, I've been playing guitar for a few years now and I've always just used tabs to learn songs (tab pro when available). So, I was just wondering what all you guys' approaches to learning songs were. I've heard a lot about learning songs by ear.

The point is, how do you guys learn songs?
99% of the time, by ear. I take the tune i want to learn, split it up into sections (intro, verse, chorus, bridge, ABAC, ABBA etc) then split those sections into smaller chunks if they are complicated, then learn to sing what i am learning.

If i can sing what i am hearing, i can find it on my instrument.

If it comes to figuring out a progression that ain't very straight forward, i do the same process with the bass. Listen for it, and learn to sing it. Then analyze what notes are being played and how they relate to the key, and i can figure out the chords.
Fusion and jazz musician, a fan of most music.

Quote by Guthrie Govan
“If you steal from one person it's theft, and if you steal from lots of people it's research”

Quote by Chick Corea
"Only play what you hear. If you don't hear anything, don't play anything."
I agree with Sickz. Works the same way for me 99% of the time and I rarely get stumped unless someone has used an unusual inversion of a chord. When that happens I'll then get the rest of the song down and work out that chord one finger at a time if I have to. That is very unusual.

The benefit of getting away from tabs and stuff someone else has put together like chord charts is that once you have taken the time to figure the song out yourself, you don't have to struggle to remember it. You already know it and it sticks with you. It's seems difficult at first but after awhile (depending on how much time you invest in doing it), it gets easier and easier. Your overall playing will improve a great deal and soon your ability to play what you hear (both physically and in your head) will just happen. At that point you are only limited by your own technique and ability.