I have been playing guitar for about 11 years and I have spent probably 95% of my time playing electric (mostly metalcore). I consider myself to be slightly above average in the metal guitar category. However I'm not very well rounded. I only know - and am comfortable with - the most common chords: A, C, D, E, G Major - A, B, D, E minor (and only the most common positions) I'm looking for some acoustic songs that use more than just these basic chords so I can expand my acoustic abilities. I like pretty much anything rock, blues, country whatever. I am a metal head so I think I'm always going to tend to spend more time with electric but I really want to bridge that gap as much as possible. Thanks!
Study these players if you want to take your rhythm playing to the next level:

Neil Young - Needle and the damage done - Old man ( these are easy - so start here)

Hendrix - Little Wing - Hey Joe - Castles Made of Sand - Angel - these can be played on acoustic - this will really open up your rhythm playing in terms of voicings and mixing strumming and fills.

Dave Matthews - he's a strong acoustic player - I can't really recommend anything since I'm not that familiar with his tunes, but they are a step up from the average level of difficulty.

Tony Rice / Bluegrass - this is actually very advanced but it will catapult your playing- very fast chord changes with a lot of string jumping - the leads can be played standalone for the most part - find an instrumental album and try learning some of it. "Acoustics" album is very "minor" so you'll probably really like it if you're into metal. He has an old instructional video that is on you tube - so that may help.