I want to re-paint my old guitar, which is a cheap black Strat copy. I need some help as I've never done this before and I don't know how to do it.

This is how i want to do it. Please tell me what I am wrong about or what I forgot and wat else I should do.

1. Disassemble the guitar, so that I have only the body.

2. Sand it with sandpaper, but not to the wood.

3. I was told, that if I don't sand it to the wood, then I don't need primer. Is it true? If so, then I'll clean it with spirit, hang it outside and just spray the paint on. I'm thinking 3 coats, 15-20 minutes between coats and wet sanding with 1000-1500 grit sandpaper between each coat.

4. Then wait for the paint to dry and the next day apply lacquer. I'm thinking of using nitrocellulose lacquer. Also 3 coats, with 1 hour between coats and wet sanding.

That's all I think it will take, but I am probably wrong. How long do I need to wait for the lacquer to dry? When can I reassemble the guitar? When can I play it?

Please tell me where I am wrong and what I need to do differently, what else I need?
Sanding the original finish is fine. Gives the new paint a surface it can bite into.

I would still use primer as this increases the chances of good surface adhesion of the color coat. I expect the cheap strat finish is poly, so you definitely want to etch prime the finish as if you are planning to use nitro its a dissimilar finish to the poly.