Hey everyone,
This is my first post on UG though I've used this forum for gear answers for years!

I've been a guitarist for 20 years. Always used a traditional combo amp+pedals setup. However I'm exploring building a rack in order to increase my tone options more easily. I have a couple of differing styles I dabble in with different groups and my current rig is a little too one-dimensional. Ideally, the rack rig I want to build will be for playing electric blues (Clapton/Cream), 70's rock (Rush, T. Rex), 90s alternative (Smashing Pumpkins), and modern electric blues (SRV, Black Crowes).

I realize multiple preamps will be required to cover all this ground, but I'll cross that bridge when I come to it...

Now my initial struggle is understanding how much output I need in a power amp. All of the amps I've owned before have been in the 30W range and that has always been great for the venues I play and allow me to get a good "sweet spot" tone without blowing the audience away. But the overwhelming majority of rack-mounted power amps I find are 50W per side, minimum. Some rate as high as 300W!

Why are there no smaller wattage power amps for rack applications? Is there something I'm missing. Is there a reason higher wattage is required in a rack system? Enlighten me.
Quote by joshhorne

Now my initial struggle is understanding how much output I need in a power amp. All of the amps I've owned before have been in the 30W range and that has always been great for the venues I play and allow me to get a good "sweet spot" tone without blowing the audience away. But the overwhelming majority of rack-mounted power amps I find are 50W per side, minimum. Some rate as high as 300W!

Why are there no smaller wattage power amps for rack applications? Is there something I'm missing. Is there a reason higher wattage is required in a rack system? Enlighten me.