Page 1 of 2
Heeellloooooo guitar players all over the world I have a simple question with a probably very simple answer too. I think.

Okay,so as some of you might remember I'm the dude posting my first couple of posts a while back in this thread asking a bunch of questions I really should've researched on my own before hand,to stop wasting your precious time Though this is a question I think I know the answer too but yet I can't confront myself with the answer,even though I vaguely know it. Does that even make sense? xD

Okay,onward to the question. For the most part as a beginner I've learnt my C major scale,I've learnt my Cmajor chords. Sus2 and Sus4 variants. I've learnt the C major in "open position" and in the "first position"....blahhh.....positions,positions and more positions everywhere.

Are these "positions" pre-determined? Are these "positions" something that just IS? Or are these "positions" just a bunch of "positions" the random guitar teacher/dude on youtube made up themselves and call them positions?

I mean,some call that position number 1,someone call that same position number 2. Can I make my own position? Or are these positions pre-determined by the intervals in the scale?

Or wait,no....the interval between a C note on the A string 3rd fret and the D note on the b string 3rd fret the same as the interval between a C note on the E string 8th fret and the D note on the E string 10th fret? It do sound the same unless I'm completely tone-deaf?

So in that regard,if the positions that all these youtube guys throw at us ain't the answer....then I can make up my own positions? See,I thought at first that the 1st position of the Cmajor scale would start off at C,E string 8th fret and the 2nd position would then start on the D,aka the 2nd DEGREE of the major scale. Hence the name "position 2"...so I played the 2nd position as i thought how it was. D E F G A B C D...
E string- 10 12
A string- 8 10 12
D string- 9 10 12 Completing the 1st octave at 12