I have an affinity strat and I want to get a new warmoth neck with stainless steel frets (due to their hardness, they wear out much slower than regular frets.) But I also want to buy an epiphone les paul 100 and make it look like a les paul custom. I've really wanted a les paul for a while now but I also want frets that will take really long to wear out on my stat. So which do you guys think I should get?
Unless you have a nickel allergy, leave the frets alone. Trust me, they are not going to wear out and upgrading the neck on an Affinity isn't worth it.

I'm curious, what would you do to make a Les Paul 100 look like a Custom?

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!

Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.
Just a newbie here but I will tell you what I read. Stainless steel frets produce a sharper brighter tone. So I assume it will not sound the same.
I play on a guitar with no name. I think I will call her Arcane.

Guitars

Arcane (My mystery 6 string HSS Strat type)

J. Reynolds (6 String SSS Strat type)

Amps

Axtron GA-10
Pick out a nicer guitar. The Affinity is a decent 1st axe but putting a bunch of $$ into one doesn't make good sense.

I have been gigging for 40 years and have not completely worn out a neck yet. They last a very long time.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY
Last edited by Cajundaddy at Jun 21, 2015,
Quote by jthm_guitarist
Unless you have a nickel allergy, leave the frets alone. Trust me, they are not going to wear out and upgrading the neck on an Affinity isn't worth it.