Hai, just thought it would be a smart idea to ask someone more experienced about this, so any responses are welcome

Basically, metal is a large part of my playing, and I have a thing for palm-muted riffs (but more than straight 000000000, don't worry). I've been playing for over three years, of which nearly two on electric, so I'm hardly a veteran, but I like to think my skills and technique are decent enough at this point (been doing fine even playing fairly complex material, such as some of the less terrifying Dream Theater or Periphery songs) - not sure if my thinking is correct but I'm generally happy with how I've been doing so far and my technique overall.

But still, after longer periods of playing mostly palm-muted riffs (especially the thrashy "machine gun" kind), I start to feel quite a lot of tension in my right arm/forearm, even slight pain if I continue playing. I try my best not to tense my hand a lot while playing, as I'm aware that's generally good/practical technique, but well, I do need to dig in quite a bit to get that heavy, chugging sound. Also, I try not to dive in into super-intense riffing right away and I usually try to warm up first, but it also happens if I'm well warmed-up already.

Main question: is it a normal thing and just a matter of practice and building up endurance/muscle strength, or am I most likely doing something wrong? Just wondering if I shouldn't worry and just keep practicing regularly, or if there's something I should correct, as quite obviously I'd rather avoid any health issues.

Thanks in advance
One question: Are you picking from the wrist, or are you using forearm movement?