this song has been out of my reach since I started playing guitar. Once I started analysing it, it's more astounding than I first thought. Amazing how many different ways MK plays the basic 3 chord progression (4 really but F and Dm are very similar chords).

Anyone else see this kind of thing in their studies?
I learned it when it first came out on a classical guitar with nylon strings. Still hard to play 30 years later on a good electric...loads of chords, finger picked, fast...not an easy song to master. He uses chords and leads together, chorded melodic runs, leads and fills, and sings at the same time...while finger picking it all...tremendous guitar player...

To get the sound, use a standard SSS strat in the 1st out of phase setting, bridge and middle pickups, through a clean amp. I think I read a while back he was using either a Twin Reverb or Vibrolux at that time. My Squier strat and Super Reverb will almost duplicate his sound on that song. Keep it clean as possible.

It takes a lot of time and practice, to pick that song you have to be very accurate, since it's really clean. Any mistakes, you will hear it...Take your time, work out one section at a time, it will come together but it takes a while. I taught a friend who wanted to learn it, took him most of a year. With a good guitar...That's the way we did it, a little at a time. IN several cases I Had to really slow it down a lot and show him exactly which notes to play, he would go home and work on that section then add it to what he already knew, and speed it up gradually. I was finally able to play rhythm one day and let him take all the leads and fills, COOL...

Almost forgot...be sure and work out the rhythm part first and remember the chord change for the 2nd lead. The first lead is Dmin, C, Bb, A. The 2nd lead is Dmin, Bb, C.
Hmmm...I wonder what this button does...
Last edited by Paleo Pete at Jun 22, 2015,