Hello All,

Firstly, new to the forum, and this is my first post, though I'm no stranger to internet forums in general. As such, I'm aware there are plenty of threads here on shredding already and of search functions in general. So I beg your collective forgiveness for asking my question(s) - but I have searched the internet and aspects of what I'm asking just never seem to be addressed - almost as if no one wants to "give away the secret" or something.

Secondly, some background: I'm 47 and have been playing since I was 13. I studied Classical in college and have played electric all my life. I'm not a technical wizard but I could get through solos like Crazy Train well enough for many of the cover bands (and their audiences) I've been in. I've never been interested in only being a shredder...but I'd like to have the speed when I want it. Think Neal Schon of Journey - hugely melodic player but can burn like nobody's business when he wants to.

I've decided recently to do a practice regimen, devoting an hour or more to electric (I'm also devoting 2 hours to classical and an hour to piano). Sometimes I'm able to do 2+ hours, sometimes I have gigs with a band and consider the gig that night to be the "practice".

I've been doing some warm-up exercises - finger independence patterns such as 1234, 2341, 3412, etc. on each string. I warm up around 110 and crank up the metronome a notch for each exercise until I get to 115.

I was playing Major and Minor scales starting at 115 and getting up into the 140s.

I also played patterns like 4 note groups (first 4 notes of the scale then go back to note 2 and do the next 4 notes, etc.) in various configurations. I'd start at 115 and work up.

For a while, I was making the starting tempo a bit faster each day which meant each scale form was 1 tick faster than it was the day before (but the first scale was still the same).