Hi, I have this Peavey EXP guitar since 3 years, it was abandoned until 1 year ago when I started playing guitar, cleaned it and got its string changed etc... Anyways, the pickups have rust on them and when I "Idle"(Not be playing), there always is a static electricity sound, something like buzzing though I am quite sure it cannot be from the amplifier, a Fender Mustang I, on top of that, when I play two strings at once which is obviously necessary, a weird background buzzing sound interferes with the sound of the strings making the sound quite bad, everything sounds degraded to be honest. Is it the pickups? I thought of buying new ones, but I don't want to do something I will regret, I need to be sure what I have to do.
Help please!
Last edited by Dread602 at Jun 23, 2015,
that sounds like you might also need to clean the input jack on both the guitar and the amp as well as check out the pick-ups, try that first and see what happens.
A poem.
Quote by yoman297
no girl, movember isnt for you. shave your stache pls

I can out-bore you any day
Quote by Pastafarian96
that sounds like you might also need to clean the input jack on both the guitar and the amp as well as check out the pick-ups, try that first and see what happens.

Cleaned both using sandpaper, I have no idea what you mean by checking out the pickups, worried I might mess up something, I have bad experience with guitar hardware D:
What I meant by checking out the pick-ups was doing any maintenance to them or replacing them. And when I said the input jacks, I meant the actual plug hole, not the cable (I'm not saying you're lying, it's just that I've seen people misunderstand that before).

Also are the pick-ups single coil or humbucker? Single coils have a tendency to buzz a little bit naturally.
A poem.
Quote by yoman297

Quote by Pastafarian96