I have been experiencing pain/tightness in my picking hand for the past 3 months. I started learning guitar a year back. The wrist tends to tighten up and it causes soreness in the hand. I went to the doctor who diagnosed it as tendonitis. I took time off and it got better but now as I am trying to ramp up my practice time again, its flairing up. I grip the pick losely, I can feel it moving around as I strum or pick so I doubt it is due to tightness or technique. I grip the pick the usual way with it coming from the side of the thumb and resting on my index finger knuckle.

Before I got the injury, I bought a new guitar (Yamaha FG700s) which comes with 12 gauge strings. Previously, I owned some random guitar with 10 gauge strings on it but the action was super high and the guitar bridge was beginning to come off. The tech told me its no good anymore when I asked him to lower the action. So I ended up buying a new one and playing/enjoying more since the action was more manageable. And I ended up with this wrist injury in the picking hand. Now, I wonder if the string gauge upgrade has a part to play in my picking hand injury. I recently went from a medium thickness pick to a dunlop tortex 0.46mm pick and my picking hand does thank me for the forgiveness the thin pick offers. I got the dunlop variety pack and I tend to like the thinnest pick the most.

I am a computer person, so I do spend time typing at work but I am pretty sure my injury is due to the guitar since stopping playing is the only thing that makes it better.

Can anyone relate to whether lighter gauge strings are going to make life easier for picking hand ? Is there a big downside to lighter gauge strings or thin picks like the 0.46mm tortex ? I mainly practice blue grass strum patterns and some fingerstyle.
you may have a general issue/problem with your wrist/hand anyway? but if it's due to guitar playing, is your wrist posture relaxed, it shouldn't be rigid or at an somewhat awkward angle.