I've been playing guitar for quite some time and I know quite a bit of theory. I can also read music but I generally don't. I think it's just out of convenience that I generally revert back to tabs and chords.
So, I'd like to try and start to focus on reading sheet music when I play guitar. I think that it would open a lot of doors for me.
Does anyone have any resources that they would be willing to share that could be useful? Any lessons on reading sheet music, songs that work well for beginner readers, online lessons, videos, etc.
Basically anything that I could use. I plan on spending this summer trying to apply this as much as possible so that by the time that the fall comes I could be confident enough to look into teaching beginners (I've been playing for about 10 years).
Get a good songbook. If you want to start over from scratch, I recommend ''A Modern Method for Guitar'' by William Leavitt alongside ''A Modern Method Songbook Jazz'' or ''A Modern Method songbook Rock''. Depends on what you like.

When you work through the books you can lend songbooks from certain albums at the library (probably). But I found them to be a little inaccurate (from my one and only one of these library books I ever rented.) But I guess in general they must be accurate (it was a very fast run I looked up in that book).
If you already know how to read music you could just grab some music sheet with pieces composed for solo guitar (Tarrega is good) and play it. I think it's fun figuring in which position and which strings (although in good book it would be marked) play certain bars etc.
Hi Leafs

Sorry to interrupt on your thread, and I absolutely mean no disrespect but when you said reading sheet music, are you referring to staff notations of music or songs? I have a little knowledge on staff notations will that not help me with reading sheet music written in staff notations or are you referring to something else?