Self taught here , terrible, and need help understanding some things. I know about 10 chords and about tuning. Sorry if this is a really stupid question...what do they mean by key? Is that the most used chord? For example if the most used chord in a song...say Gmaj...does that mean the key is "G"? I heard Billie Joe Armstrong ask a fan which key a song was in after inviting him onstage, when the guy answered Billie let him play with the band. Very cool!

Does the key refer to tuning? Would E standard mean the key is E?

And could somebody explain intonation to me while you are at it?

Thanks much for your patience and help.
Intonation is a part of tuning.

Getting a guitar tuned consists of adjusting tension, but you also need to adjust the length of the string. If the string isn't the right length then the intonation won't be correct.

Here's why you should care:
If your intonation isn't set properly then it will be possible to tune any given open string to sound perfect, but when you press down on a fret it won't be completely in tune.
The frets are supposed to sub-divide the string, but if the string-length is wrong then the frets are only going to be 'sort of' in the right locations.

There's another thing that might make this difficult to understand, because the frets are really only approximately in the right place to begin with unless you play a guitar that has a compensated fretboard. Every string would need to have it's own fret-board if you wanted to get it perfect, because the relationships between the notes aren't perfectly uniform.
It's not like, half an inch, then another half an inch, etc... It's more like 31/64, followed by 32/64, followed by 30/64, etc.... and the pattern for each string depends upon which note the string is tuned to.
On the B-string the pattern might go 31, 32, 30
But on a hypothetical C-string the pattern would start at 32, then 30, then whatever spacing comes next.