Hey guys.

I've been playing guitar for a little over 4 years now and I must say that I realized that I don't know too many chords outside the majors, minors, major sevenths and minor sevenths. I do however know them in a atleast 3-4 ways each (the correct word is 'voicing' i think).

On occasion I do learn a few new 'exotic' chords which might be required for some song that I have to play live but other than, don't really know too many chords. I sometimes sit and discover new chords while practicing which some jazz-educated friends of mine notice and tell me about.

I partly attribute this to the fact that I didn't require to use them too much but also because I happened to concentrate on lead playing much more than rhythm. I got heavily into progressive metal and have been enjoying 'technical' stuff for more than two years and now that I find myself writing music I'm lacking knowledge of how to get the more interesting sounding chords.

So, now I ask you, how do I proceed to expand that library of chords? Especially if I plan to write progressive metal and similar stuff?

I could download a chords chart but it just overwhelms me and I don't know where to start.
Quote by slapsymcdougal
No, I judge people based on how similar they are to me.
The greater the similarity, the more of a total ****ing **** they are.

Metal is like an apple. Everything is good except for the core
Last edited by shawnkenneth at Jun 29, 2015,
I love chords WOOOOO!

I got this. Get ready. In semi order of importance:

The Triads

Major
Minor
Diminished
Aug (if you want go for it)

The 7th chords

Maj7
Min7
Dom7
m7b5
Dim7

The "easy" extended voicings

Maj9
min9
Dom9
Dom13
Maj6/9
m6
9sus4 (Fmaj7/G)
7b9
7#9
Maj7#11
m11

etc, etc, there's many.

Enharmonic reinterpretation of primary 7th chords:

See the most recent Jet Talks Jazz. You master that, you "win" an entire area of guitar playing.

BUT TO ACTUALLY ANSWER YOUR QUESTION LOL: