Hiya,

So I've been playing electric guitar for 7 years or so on and off but have never had a proper acoustic before, just a rubbish classical guitar that I got 7 years ago.

I'm looking for a acoustic guitar for around £350 or less (could go up to £400), and I'm from the UK. I'm planning on doing equal amounts of fingerstyle and chord work/picking looking at mainly folk and blues/rock stuff- think ben howard, damien rice, bob dylan as well as more poppy stuff like ed sheeran so I guess it needs to be fairly versatile.

A cutaway would be nice, and I'm not a massive fan of the colour of most spruce tops, I think cedar and mahogany looks nicer but obviously I get that spruce is versatile which is why its popular and I don't mind going for a spruce top.

I've been looking at some Takamines online but unfortunately they don't seem too widespread here in the UK so I don't think I'll be able to try one out

Thanks for the help- anything I end up buying will sound a million miles better than what I've got at the moment so I'm looking forward to picking up a new guitar!
I'll suggest two makes to look at - Yamaha and Recording King. Yamaha have a very good reptuation, and Recording King seem to be well made, eg resettable neck joints. I think that Tanglewood may be a Brit importer brand, and I've played a lot of nice examples of those here in Oz.
Tony Done's recommendations of Yamaha and Recording King are excellent ones. I own examples of each brand - and the Recording King especially is a great guitar (ROS-16 triple 0).

Other brands I'd also recommend:

Cort, Crafter, LAG, Tanglewood, Vintage.
Thanks for the responses guys.

Is the shape going to have that much of an effect? I'm wary of getting a dreadnought because I am quite small (5"6') and my arms are pretty short but is the difference from a 00/000 that different?