Hi,

I have been playing guitar for just about two years. I generally play "metalcore" (I hate acknowledging sub-genres), stuff along the lines of I See Stars, Of Mice and Men, A Day to Remember, Beartooth, etc. I'm pretty confident playing most novice and say, 70% of intermediate tabs on this website, so I'm happy with my ability to read tab. That being said, my ability to create my own music is poor.

My end goal with the guitar is to end up in a band, but I don't want to do that until I'm better at creating my own music. Obviously, the best way to improve is just to practice improv. But what is my best way to do this? Use garageband to record my own songs (rhythm and lead guitar only)? Learn more music theory and then practice applying that? Playing along to songs I don't know?

Any feedback is appreciated. Thank you in advance.
I'd like to add that I'm fairly confident in my ability to write decent chorus riffs or breakdowns, or things of that nature.. I'm especially struggling to write leads, solos, etc.
To my mind there is nothing more important than practice, so yes, just go about recording guitar tracks and improvising on them. Garageband contains a drummer and other instruments, too, so just try working with that. Coming with practice you will find it easier to know how chord changes sound and feel, same with writing melodies. One last thing I found is that it helps me to put away the guitar from time to time, since with that you have a different approach and are not limited to your skills and routines on the instrument. Learning to play -or even just trying to- another instrument might give you another viewpoint, too.
Hope that helps, I'm rather confident with my music writing, writing texts is still a whole different thing to learn