So after much searching, I bought a Mesa Express 5:50 (non plus). Its a head and 1x12 cabinet. Got a great deal on, so I'm pumped.

It sounds amazing, everything I wanted in an amp: great cleans, great mid gain, and a higher gain that I could only reach with a distortion pedal on my old amp.

I love it.

But, it has this nasty hiss on all the channels. I don't notice it in a band setting, or when playing loud, but when I play soft at home, it's kind of annoying.
Some google searches have lead me to believe that new tubes gets rid of the hiss, but it appeared that this only worked about half of the time.

A second option I ran into was using a noise gate or suppressor. I have no working knowledge of these things and was told that they only gated sounds that come before your amplified signal, so the amp's hiss wouldn't be gated. Is that true? If it is, could I just put a gate/suppressor in the effects loop then? Which would suit my needs better in this situation? A gate or a suppressor? I just want to get rid of the hissing.

Anyone have a third option/fix I could use?

Thanks in advance.
Quote by JD Close
Piano dick had some good parts, but should have said "As the business man slowly gets boned", would have accented the whole dick feeling of the album
You will need back up tubes anyway so start with getting a few 12AX7s and swap them around to see what's what. I recommend JJs.

Hiss can come from lots of things really though and 'some' hiss is normal.

Gate should really be a last resort.
This is beyond normal hiss though. Its more than I'd like though.

So new preamps? Alright, I've heard JJs sound to dark in this amp. I'll try em out though. I run a strat and a p90 equipped SG, so its hard to make them sound dark.
Quote by JD Close
Piano dick had some good parts, but should have said "As the business man slowly gets boned", would have accented the whole dick feeling of the album