Guitar is definitely my main thing, but I've heard that learning piano helps a lot with understanding theory plus i like to compose music so the skills would come in handy. Anyone here play? any suggestions on books or websites to help get me started? Thanks.
just take a piano class, unlike guitar there is a very solid foundation on how you're supposed to approach the fundamentals of piano in terms of efficiency and understanding
modes are a social construct
I've been playing for about 8 years, the michael aaron books or james bastien books are a great place to start, but getting a teacher is better. You also need to read sheet music if you don't already
A teacher is indispensable. Self-taught pianists are okay, but they miss a lot of technical instruction as a result.
What are your goals as a pianist? You don't really have to be that great at playing the piano to do what you mentioned. I'm not a good pianist, but I do noodle around with it and try stuff on it, and it also helped my understanding of theory a lot.

So do you want to be able to play piano music on it, or do you just want to use it as a tool to figure stuff out and help with songwriting and understanding theory? Of course taking lessons will always help.
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115
I'm not looking to be great at piano and right know because of money, lessons are not an option. just want a better understand of theory and a basic knowledge of playing piano(looking for a book or website to help). maybe later I might might strive to be good at piano and take lessons but my main focus is guitar right know.
If it's just the theory and songwriting side you're interested in, I agree with MaggaraMarine - no technique required, no lessons required.