Long story short, played a used fretless bass a few days ago. Loved it, in the process of buying it, and as a project down the road I'm interested in building a fretless partscaster. Every strat neck I can find though has the frets pre-installed. Does anyone know of any guides or videos detailing how to remove frets from a neck and fill in the gaps?
THE FORUM UPDATE KILLED THE GRADIENT STAR

Baltimore Orioles: 2014 AL Eastern Division Champions, 2017: 75-87
Baltimore Ravens: 2012 World Champions, 2017: 4-5
2017 NFL Pick 'Em: 92-54
These folk can help you out.

http://www.unfretted.com
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by jpnyc at #33506670
Buy a Warmoth neck and have them leave the frets off.

Is that an option? Last time I spec'd out a neck on their site, I couldn't add it to the cart until I specified the frets I wanted on it.

Quote by dannyalcatraz at #33506671
These folk can help you out.

http://www.unfretted.com

Well this looks like it fits the bill pretty well.

Quote by necrosis1193
Is that an option? Last time I spec'd out a neck on their site, I couldn't add it to the cart until I specified the frets I wanted on it.

It’s not built into the site, but IIRC they’ll do it if you contact them and ask for it.
Don't bother with a partscaster; it's just as cheap to simply buy one.

Fretless basses and guitars: http://www.rondomusic.com/cgi-rondomusic/sb/productsearch.cgi?storeid=*0c1421a8d614cc26

Here's a strat: http://www.rondomusic.com/ST625ebbkflamefl.html

This one's $369, which is pretty close to what you're going to pay for a Warmoth neck (depending on what options you add).