Hey UG!

First, a small introduction: I’m a rookie, picking up Electric Guitar. I’ve got lots of experience playing classical Piano and Violin, so a lot of my technical Guitar skill comes from a combination of these two – it’s the coordination that I picked up playing these instruments that made it a lot easier to pick up the Guitar. I love playing, but there’s an area that I’m lacking in (setting technical ability aside): producing different tones. Okay, so with a Piano or Violin, a lot of the ‘tone’ comes from the instrument itself. But with the Electric Guitar, you have the Guitar itself, Pickups, Amp Settings, Pedals… and I have no idea what combinations will give you which sound!

Okay, so I play a Les Paul style Guitar, the Vintage V100 with stock pick-ups, hooked up to a small Marshall amp. I’m really into the sound present in a lot of Japanese rock/metal – maybe the best way to describe it would be not as muddy or fuzzy as conventional rock/metal distorted sounds, but singing and clear. Here are a few samples so you can get an idea of what I'm talking about: Link 1, and Link 2. I love the tone produced in both links, with the second link being a more 'crunchy' and distorted sounding variant of the first link. I can’t achieve anything similar with my current set-up, it seems I can only produce more classic rock tones.

My question is, how can I go about altering my setup to make a similar tone? Could I get your own opinions, and some specific recommendations in pickups or pedals that might help me in making this sound?

Thanks everyone!
I'm not a tone chaser, but what a I heard sounded a lot like some of the shredders of the 1980s-1990s, like Steve Vai, Tony MacAlpine, Chris Impelliteri and Jennifer Batten.

And THOSE players will be more easily found on gear boards than those guys will.

Start here:
http://equipboard.com

I know Batten and Vai both favored Carvin amps & HB equipped guitars.