Hi!

I've heard that you have to mess with the fine tuners, and spring tuners if you want to tune your guitar from E standard to Drop D.

For me personally it worked just fine by tuning the E string to D tuning, and fine tune the guitar afterwards.

When switching between E standard and Drop D will it damage the guitar by just tuning i like you would to a normal guitar, or do you just do it the other way to spare yourself from a lot of time trying to get it in turne?
I'm not an expert with FRs, but as far as I knew, you couldn't properly drop d without blocking the trem and using a d-tuna. Otherwise you would have to adjust the sprig tension and whatnot.
Tuning your Floyd Rose from E standard to drop D will make your guitar explode in a horrendous fireball. Don't do it.

The idea that your guitar will get damaged by tuning one string a whole step down is silly. All you have to do is adjust the spring tension in the back, tune the guitar to drop D, re-adjust the spring tension, then re-tune back to drop D, Re-adjust the springs, wash, rinse, repeat etc. until every string is perfectly in tune and the bridge is perfectly level with the plane of the body of the guitar.

You need to adjust the spring tension whenever the string tension changes, because any change in one affects the other. Lowering string tension (which happens when you tune a guitar down) will cause the bridge to fall backwards into the cavity of the guitar, which throws off the guitar's action and intonation. So unless you don't mind owning a guitar that plays like shit, then you need to adjust the springs.
Roses are red
Violets are blue
Omae wa mou
Shindeiru

Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Last edited by T00DEEPBLUE at Jul 19, 2015,
And, of course, I downtune to pretty much anything, and instantly, while using a Floyd by using a Variax guitar (specifically, a JTV-89F).

No retuning required, and I can go back and forth in the middle of a song.
Quote by T00DEEPBLUE