Basically ever since I started playing I never really changed my technique or anything, but one thing that I can't fix has constantly always been a major annoying wolf tone on the high e string, and it's most notable when I fret it on the 12th string (usually tuned Eb but it happens across the entire string) why why why is this happening, I read things about wolf tones but nothing seems to help, the sounds seems to start smoothly and as the string loses energy (and thus volume) it starts to wobble massively it's very noticeable on distortion.

Happens with two of my guitars, one is a shitty squier with good pickups (so it sounds good, but the intonation is awful), the other one is a Shecter C1-Custom, sounds good overall but the pickups are stock.

Why is this happening? What can I do to fix it? (DIY kind of way, not "take it to a shop")

Thanks.

Things that may help or not: 100% sure it has to be the guitar, happens no matter how I output the sound (Amplifier or not, out of guitar pedal into headphones or not, into PC or not)
Last edited by Konohana at Jul 21, 2015,
It's unlikely to be a wolf tone because it's happening on 2 different guitars that are very different in design to one another, so their resonant frequency is naturally going to be different.

What is actually causing the problem, I don't know though.
Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
I also have to do that. Cottaging this weekend
But like I mentioned, the other guitar is a squier, and squiers have awful intonation, wolf tones aren't that unlikely, are they?
what happens if you tune back to 440? or tune down to 430? same thing on both guitars?
Quote by ad_works
what happens if you tune back to 440? or tune down to 430? same thing on both guitars?

Same thing, any ideas?
Last edited by Konohana at Jul 21, 2015,
Quote by Tony Done
If your Squier has awful intonation, it very likely just needs a set up. It isn't common for guitars to have the bridge in the wrong place these days.