So a bit of background:

I'm generally a guitar player, but I started playing bass before I took up arms as one of the widdly high-end wankers, so I have a decent amount of experience playing bass. I'm not amazing or anything but I know what I'm doing. So I've joined a band back handling low-end duties. Thing is... I don't know if my current bass is really 100% appropriate.

Basically, I'm looking in to getting a 6 string bass, to give myself the low notes the music requires (the band play 7 strings exclusively), while also giving myself the higher range notes I like to use for chords and such. But, as ever, I don't have much money to invest without spending a good amount of time saving. I don't know if it's relevant or not for bass gear, but I'm based in the UK.

So my question is this:

Is there such a thing as a budget 6 string? If such a thing even exists, would it be worth buying one at all? If so, what are my options realistically? What's the least I should expect to spend on a 6 string and get something that's usable for gigging?
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Last edited by Zaphod_Beeblebr at Jul 22, 2015,
Many bands play heavy with a 4 stringer, but if you're really craving a six string my go-to cheap 6er is the Ibanez sr206, sr306, sr406, sr506, etc. Depending on your budget, you can probably find one of those used on craigslist or ebay. Obviously, the higher the number the better build quality and electronics, but the cheaper ones shouldn't be too bad.

Warning, though. They switched the factory that these models were made in and I much prefer the Indonesian made basses as opposed to the Korean made basses. They have a thinner neck and are much smoother to play, in my opinion.