I have been playing guitar for 7 years and have been attempting to write songs for about 5 years. I have an obsession with catchy melodies that stick in your head for days. The issue is, ive never wrote one. Im pretty good with lyrics but not melodies. Ive tried humming and mumbling over the music. Ive tried messing around with scales but nothing seems to work. Any advice? Any specific techniques you use? I know this is for sharing and critiquing but I'm really at a loss. Thanks in advance.
So, how are you at writing chords? If I have a chord progression that I like, and I write lyrics to go over it, and I sing the lyrics over the chords a few times, the words seem to naturally / effortlessly land on note within the key of my song. I may even start out just speaking the lyrics over the chords, and I gradually find myself making subconscious choices on adjusting the pitch, and after a few times through, I'm singing the lyrics. I do not even know what the notes are, but I hold up a tuner by my mouth and sing into it and figure out what "melodic line" I've come up with.

If I'm looking at lyrics with no chord progression for guidance, I'm lost trying to come up with a melody. So I always start with the chord progression. But that's just me.

There's other "rules" you can find, like generally moving stepwise with lyrics, and each time you jump more than a step, reverse direction and move stepwise back towards where you came from (e.g., A - B - C - D - G - F - E - A - B - A - B - A - E - D - C - C ).