Page 1 of 3
I am a self taught guitarist but I was a metal fan before a musician. Consequently rather than learn to play the guitar, I just learnt to play metal and all my lead work is basically minor and pentatonic based.

I've been trying to expand my horizons and play different styles of music and this has meant learning to play lead in major keys. I'm okay playing riffs but when it comes to solos I seem to struggle. I thought that I could simply play the relative minor scale (i.e. if it's C major you can just play A minor) but I've been told that this does not always work.

When I do solo I end up either just running up or down the scale or just play a variation of the scale on one string with the open string as a peddle note.

Any advice you could give me would be really appreciated. Also if anyone could advise me on a well known song that has a good solo in a major key it would really help.

Many thanks
listen to more music

music isn't scales

scales don't matter

forget everything you know about scales

just listen to the sounds you make
modes are a social construct
I understand what you're saying but listening to music and being able to play it are totally different things. For instance I can listen to Mozart and Bach all day long but I'd have no idea how to play any of it unless I had it on tab.

The problem I've found with simply learning songs from tab is it just becomes about memorising rather than understanding the way the music is constructed.
I should also add that a recent experience I had playing with a gospel band; I was told that my 'style doesn't really fit the music'

Regardless of the key, I was still using pinch harmonics, unison bends and fast legato runs which didn't seem to go down well. Are there other techniques that I can use that will help me stand out as a good lead guitarist whilst still keeping with the vibe of more mellow/chilled music?