Hi guys, I've been playing guitar off and on for around 10 years now. However, I have a lot of holes in my learning because I was more focused on drums for those 10 years. Now I wanna hop back onto guitar. One problem, I can't pick very fast! The music I like to play requires a lot of precise fast picking. I'm using a Dunlop Tortex Jazz III pick that is 1.14mm. It's not at all a flimsy pick. Can you guys point me to some lessons or tips for building up my picking speed?
Quote by mitrak

no. no it's not. that's a terrible lesson and you need to stop

OP just slow things down and use a metronome. there's no secrets to be found in terms of learning dexterity and speed
Quote by Kevätuhri
Hail isn't too edgy for posts, posts are not edgy enough for Hail.

Quote by UseYourThumb
You win. I'm done here.
Hail is spot on here, if you want to build speed there is only a few things you have to do.

1) Slow down. Technique is purely physical, you don't get better by making mistakes. Muscle memory and repetition is king.

2) Minimize tension. If you are tense you are making it really hard for yourself to achieve any speed at all. Kind of running with a cramp, it is really hard and not really pleasant. Check out how hard you are fretting/holding the pick, look for tension in your wrist/elbow/shoulders and try to eliminate it as best as possible.

3) Minimize motions. The smaller the motions the faster you can get from point A to point B. Small efficient motions will save you a lot of energy while also allowing you to go faster.

4) Metronome or slow downed recording. You need to be spot on with timing to build any speed worth while, so either practice it to a metronome, or slow the passage you are working on down and play along with the recording.