Page 1 of 2
Now I know a lot of songs, possibly over 150 and I know most of them exceptionally well. But when it comes to the solos, I usually try to learn the solo from the album note for note or figure something that fits and play it that exact way every time I play it.

What I'm trying to say is one, I can't my own s ong to save my life nor can I really just start playing a solo and lose my mind and lose control like I see some of my friends do and they make it look effortless. I've been paying for over ten years now and I should be worlds better than what I am.

I've studied scales and videos and been trying to push myself more and more over the past 2 or 3 months now, but I feel like I'm making no progress. Am I just not creative?
Thank you #21! Tim Duncan!!!
It sounds to me that you have a lot of information down, but your problem is extracting that information and using it to help you as a writer and musician. (At least from the description that you've given)

I think you have to learn to understand some of these things on a really deep level, that is when knowledge becomes feeling. Take the songs you know and break them down. What progressions do they use? How does two songs with the same progression differ from one another? What is the relationship between the notes in the melody and the chords underneath/or the key signature you are playing in? The solo phrases you learn, what chord(s) are they played over? How does those chords relate to the key? How does the notes of the phrase relate to the chord underneath? Are they chord tones, diatonic or accidentals?