Sorry if I posted this in the wrong place, mods. I should have asked this a long time ago. I came across a website: http://www.scalerator.com/?optionsDisp=none&root=C&pattern=dorian&tuning=EADGBE&size=30
for reading scales. I'm not very good at reading scales, so I turned to this site for help. Having trouble separating out the various positions, currently for the Dorian scale in the key of C. I am writing this down on a sheet for future reference when practicing. What exactly is the purpose of this site, and is there a better one where the positions have already been separated?
UPDATE: I tried separating out the positions starting from the right, and working my way back to the left. Seems to make differentiating the positions within the scale much easier. Is this a good idea?
Last edited by pointnplink at Jul 30, 2015,
Quote by cdgraves
I'd ditch the software and use my instrument for all learning. If an instrument and sheet of music are good enough for all of history's badass musicians, they're good enough for today's students.

Okay, so that brings me to the problem of separating out the positions from a scale diagram. How to do that?
Position is literally just where your index finger is located on the fretboard.

Rather than thinking just in terms of position to start, sit with your guitar and work out your regular major scales as just 3 note per strings patterns*. The positions will emerge naturally, because that's just where the notes are on the fretboard. When you get the end of one position, move up to the next scale note and descend in the next. Start at the very lowest scale note you can, even if it's not the root of the scale (ie, open low E if you're playing C major). Don't worry about modes and stuff yet, because that refers to concepts that really don't make any sense until you've already learned your scales and keys.