Hey guys,

I've been playing electric guitar for a while now and I've recently come across some work that I find incredibly refreshing, I'd love to be able to write songs in this style. Here are two examples:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rx1MJJduQ04

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9goHJ9a2pyc

Because I don't have much experience with these jazzy progressions and vocal harmonies, I'd love it if someone could point me in a certain direction where I could learn about these progressions. I have some basic knowledge about how to construct chords and progressions, but like I said I'd like to take this to the next level and learn more about jazzy progressions and harmonies.

Thanks in advance for any help.
There's also the Android app iReal Pro ... get lots of the fake book tunes, which it shows chords, and plays the tune, can transpose it, change speed, change playback style.

It's only a few quid roughly, to buy. Worth every penny.

So, you'll see loads of example progressions across the tunes, but you won't get the theory behind why.

Here's a few concepts to get you going.

A lof of the progressions involve partly traversing the cycle of 5ths, for the chord roots involved. For example, on guitar, look at this shape (from bass to treble) ...

0 0 0 0 1 1 (E A D G C F)

From E -> A is 5 semitones (a perfect 4th). As is A -> D, etc ... C->F

So, to target F, you could use C->F, or G->C->F, or D->G->C->F and so on, for the root progression. If you start from a "long way back", e.g. from E->A->... F, often the chords on that progression are dom7 (E7, A7 ...) ... each setting the next one up.

But if you start "nearby" ... ew.g. G -> C-> F, you'll often see this as either

Gm7 C7 F ( a major ii V I)
Gm7b5 C7b9 F (a minor ii V I)

And the actual dom chord used varies massively.

So, for a jazz blues in F, you may well see a "turn around" ... roots A D G C F, such as

A7#9, D7#5, Gm9, C13, F6/9 or
Am7, D7, Gm7, C13, F7 or
Am7 Dm7 Gm7, C7b9, F7 or
Am7 Dm7 Gm7b5, C7#9, F7