Hey guys- wrote this piece over the past month, and I wanted to know what you think.

My main concerns are that the transitions seem disjointed, as well as the drum track might not fit- I have very little knowledge of drums.

Thanks!
Attachments:
California Skate Punk.gp5
Quote by Rokkstar
You didn't tune the bass down the half-step. It'd make more sense if you added the vocal melodies. Without the vocal melodies, if there are any, it just sounds like chords! But I don't know much about it.

Thanks for catching that! I actually don't have experience writing lyrics, so maybe I need to work on that next.

EDIT: Here's the revised file.
Attachments:
California Skate Punk Song.gp5
Last edited by Jake P at Aug 1, 2015,
You.. still didn't tune down the bass. Also, your drum patterns have like, 8 instances of cymbals. Everything in the drum loop appears to be kick, snare and low tom.
o()o

Quote by JamSessionFreak
yes every night of my entire life i go to bed crying because i wasnt born american
Quote by EpiExplorer
You.. still didn't tune down the bass.

Sorry about that... bit of a Luddite here. This should work.

Quote by EpiExplorer
Also, your drum patterns have like, 8 instances of cymbals. Everything in the drum loop appears to be kick, snare and low tom.

Aaaaaand? What specifically can I improve about it? I mean, we are talking about punk drumming here. I didn't mention it before, but I definitely want to keep the guitar at the forefront of the arrangement, so I want to keep the patterns very simple.
Attachments:
Last edited by Jake P at Aug 2, 2015,
That's all well and good, but even in punk, they use the hi-hat at the least.
Here's the thing: What you're writing here is not what it'll sound like in real life. You need an equal balance of low, mid and high end for an encompassing experience. By adding something as simple as a hi-hat every quarter note, you're already forming the basis of a strong rhythmical backline.