Who uses or doesn't use Volume pedals? I play PnWorship on the weekends were a volume pedal is treated almost as a necessity to get those swells. I recently took my Boss fv_500 off my board (great pedal, but big IMO) and forced myself use the volume knob on my guitar instead. I found with my dd20 that I could still produce nice swells with the infinite repeats option. What do you guys think? is there really anything you can do on a volume pedal that you can't learn to do with a guitar knob.?
I don't own a volume pedal. Never really saw the point...partly because I don't generally do volume swells.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
I have the fv300, , I just have it at the very end of my chain, in the loop, tucked behind my amp. I just use mine to go from jam volume to night time practice volume. I got it in a trade soley cause I thought it was looked cool but it's turned out to be quite useful for me, if I don't change modules I barely fiddle with my amp anymore.
Fender Mustang/Derfenstein DST> Boss Power Wah> Pedal Monsters Klone> Bogner Uberschall> Walrus Audio Janus> Randall RM20> Line 6 M9> Randall RM20
Quote by brenton393
is there really anything you can do on a volume pedal that you can't learn to do with a guitar knob.?
With a pedal you can change the placement in the chain. That can have a big impact on tone.
A volume pedal also works the same way regardless of rig. Some guitars have control knob arrangements that are less conducive to doing swells, like Telecasters. Swells are THE reason Bill Kirchen modifies his the way he does.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!