Disclaimer: I am a grad student, which should tell you all you need to know about my budget. I don't have the money for pedals or stomp-boxes, and am looking for something that will work as a catch-all and give me what I want in a private setting, or smaller venue live stuff.

I've gotten a good 10 years out of my Line 6 Spider III but the motherboard has decayed to the point where the thing is unusable for any more than 20 minutes at a time. So, I'm looking for something new.

I've considered the Spider IV, as I've heard mostly good things. However, the digital sound of the thing and the potential for decay (considering the thing's pretty much a computer) leave me reticent. As such, I'm considering treating myself to a better-quality amp without all the built-in effects (I really have no use for anything above 75W, btw) and a Floor Pod PLUS board or something.

With that in mind, does anyone have any recommendations? I play on a PRS SE Custom and mostly do metal and prog, though I enjoy experimenting all across the board.

Thanks!
If I was you I'd look into the fender mustang and the peavy vypyr amp models. I have played with em both and they are not bad at all. But the peavy was the best of the 2 for metal imo.
Vypyr 2 or 3. It has a bunch of effects so you won't need a whole lot of pedals, plus it's idea for metal/rock.
Spiders are complete garbage. Look for a used Vyper Tube 60.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band
Vypyr sounds like the way to go, then -- thanks for the feedback so far!