I've been playing guitar for like 4 years. During that time I did numerous attempts at trying to learn at least a bit of musical theory to figure out at least small piece by myself. I studied from many sources, from my teacher to books to YT videos and magazines.

But what it left me with is just a mess in my head. I never succedeed at any of thoese attempts. My teacher, even though he is great at playing many instruments and has educated the greatest local guitarists wasn't very enthusiastic on teaching me that. He says that things take many years to master (even though I could read thouse out of simple article). I don't doubt or blame him, because it could be attitude from the musical school, but I didn't want to be a proffesional musician and things he tried to explain to me were too complex and used too specific language for me to handle. Rest of the sources left me with the same outcome - even tough I could follow them to one point, sooner or later the author usually skipped some things as if he assumed the student would already know it even though he couldn't. It's not me being plain dumb or lazy.

I am not bad guitarist. Of course I am not any kind of a shredder and many locals could overwhelm me, but I can handle most of songs if I decide to do so. I am creative mind and what dragged me to guitar is its creative aspect. Constant covering makes me like guitar less and this process is just increasing over time.

So now I am asking you to some basic guidelines that could let me do my own little bit of music and/or drag me deeper into this. I am the type of person that instead of reading whole book would read pieces of it and try them so those guidelines could let me discover more theory if it would be needed. Although I have some unsorted knowledge in my head, plase write them as if I would be total newbie.

Sorry you had to read through that nonsense and thanks if you decide to help me because I am really desperate.