Greetings fellow bass enthusiasts,

A buddy of mine recently wrecked my bass amp with his beer pints so I'm currently looking for a new amp. I'm not too concerned about awesome quality since I'm not gigging at the moment and I'm using the high quality band room amps when I'm jamming with the band.

Since I started playing guitar I've opted to go for a decent guitar amp. My question is whether it is a 'bad idea' to play bass with a guitar amp. I don't know much in terms of electrical engineering with how amps are built, but since I'm playing a fuzzy lead thrash metal bass genre I don't think it would be a problem to buy a guitar amp instead of a bass amp, and just play on that with the pedals.

Would this be a bad idea? I don't mind not having a low-end bassy tone when I play, for all I care the more my bass sounds like an e-guitar the better. I'm just concerned with whether it would damage the amp, something like that.

Thanks for your input and advice.
you'll mess up your speakers

that being said i practiced through a 10w guitar combo amp for years before i got a big boy amp

definitely make sure it's solid state, too, just to be on the safe side

if you have a bass cab that works, you can totally use a guitar head, but when it comes to a live gig you'll realize how much you're missing out on. but then you can go into the wonderful world of bi-amping
modes are a social construct
i haven't tried them but the new peavey vypyr vips are designed to handle bass as well.
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.