I'll try to keep as simple as possible.

I have a Les Paul-type guitar. As you can from my signature, it has a SD Custom 5 (a hotter '59 with expanded bottom end) on the bridge, which sounds muddy at times and has more output than I really need.

I like to play indie and shoegaze, so I need a nice sparkly clean base tone. I have fallen in love with the tone of Jazzmaster (that warm tone with bright highs), but until I can get my hands on a JM, I'm better off installing a pup that suits me better.

I've narrowed my options to these two: a regular PAF-type pickup to match it with the neck, or try a retrofit P-90 , but I'm not sure which one is my best option.

PAF: +matches with neck pup; less output for clearer tone; versatile
-it's a humbucker; don't know if it can get me that clean tone I'm aiming for

P-90: +just might be what I need; single-coil highs with humbucker bass response
-I have no experience with P-90s; don't how versatile they are if I ever need a heavier tone

I'm going with GFS to save me some money, but I'm open to any other suggestions, just try to keep them budget-friendly.
Wave goodbye to the past.
You've got your whole life to lead.

Fender 60's Lacquer Jazzmaster
Schecter C-1+ with SD '59
Egnater Tweaker 15
PolyTune noir
Algal Bloom fuzz
Fingerprint Redux fuzz
Nocturner reverb
Flashback delay
If you want bright highs, I would avoid anything with covers. For an inexpensive P90, I agree that the GFS Dream 90s and Mean 90s are worth a look. I like SD jazz, because they are the brightest standard humbuckers that SD make, though next time I would likely look at the vintage style Dimarzios with 12 screw poles.
http://www.riograndepickups.com/lil-bastard

Or a bit hotter:
http://www.riograndepickups.com/bastard-2

This one is two P90's in humbucker format. So P90 when split, humbucker with both coils running:
http://www.riograndepickups.com/dirty-harry-humbucking
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone